Midwinter Fae, the second volume in the series A Procession of Faeries, is a collection of stories about faeries and magic at Midwinter, the day with the shortest amount of daylight and longest night of the year.

On the day of the shortened sun
A battle between two kings has begun.
The old year dies, and the Oak King rules
We celebrate with logs of Yule!
But the Holly King is defeated, not dead
To Caer Arianrhod he heads.
Until Midsummer, when they battle again
And the Holly King will once again reign…




The Madness of Survival ~ Dayle A. Dermatis
Summerland’s Paladin ~ Diana Benedict
The Ice Skating Fairy ~ Leah Cutter
Treasure ~ Leslie Claire Walker
Winternight by Eric Kent Edstrom
First Rays of New Sun ~ Ron Collins
At the Heart of Trickery ~ Rei Rosenquist
A Squalor of Chickens ~ Karen L. Abrahamson
By Winter’s Forbidden Rite ~ DeAnna Knippling
Passage ~ Anthea Sharp
Midwinter Run ~ Marcelle Dubé
Faery Unpredictable ~ Deb Logan
The Stars of Neverwhere ~ T. Thorn Coyle
The Kiss of the Horned God ~ Jamie Ferguson
Destiny ~ Kristine Kathryn Rusch
Holly vs Oak ~ Rebecca M. Senese
A Last Meal for the Holly King ~ Stefon Mears
Bride Thief ~ Brigid Collins
The Giving Year ~ Alexandra Brandt